As I drove to work yday, wiping away my tears that dropped down on my cheek, I was asking myself ‘Am I doing to right thing for you?’. It was Shriya’s first day at school. It’s been over a year, 14 months to be exact since I left you at the care of an Indian babysitter and left to work. My heart pains today as much as it did, 14 months back. The only difference of sending you to a licensed Day care, more like school atmosphere. Driving with no concentration on the road or traffic, I kept asking to myself ‘Is the change necessary now? Will she be okay at school? How will she feed herself? Will she get a good care?’

All I can console myself is, my lil one is growing and I want a good learning experience for her, learn to be more disciplined, more social, learn to share…And I enrolled her at The Learning Experience. It is a good 5-6 mi drive from my home and it’s relatively a new facility, new furniture, new toys, new environment for her. And I hope she likes it initially, later love to grow in it.

She is in ‘Twaddlers’ classroom which has the 2-3 age group kids in it. I know she loves to be with older kids than the younger ones, and the teacher readily agreed to enroll her in the 2 year olds, although she’s only 22 months old.

Involved in a 4 hr meeting @ work, I really couldn’t resist myself in calling the center and checking how she is doing. and to my surprise, learnt that she ate half of the Cinnamon raisin I gave for her breakfast and few spoons of Pasta & that she’s sleeping. Also her teacher added that, she didn’t really needed any help to sleep, when the mattress was laid down, she stepped on it and slept and pulled her blanky to herself. and she slept ON HER OWN! Wow, the teacher was really happy with her at school and so is mommy & daddy 🙂

As the clock ticked to 3:30, I zoomed out of the doors into the elevator, drove to the day care to get back home with my hunnie. But before I picked her, I watched her from outside, and they were having their evening time snacks. As her teacher was offering them Cheese Balls, she helped herself. She watched other kids eat and ate on her own. And in fact, trashed the ones that slipped on to the floor and wiped her hands. Oh my! I’m so much proud of my girl and very happy for her 🙂 But the minute I entered, she swung her arms to me and snuggled herself in the nook of my neck.

The teacher handed over us her activity sheet, we bid them bye for the day and hopped in the car to go home. And her first day at school went GREAT! Good job, my girl 🙂

